top of page
Search
  • jorushworth6

Lesson 2: learners really need a scaffold for making notes

Updated: May 26, 2020

When I turned up to my first lesson, I was using (I'm ashamed to say) a hand-made notebook constructed from pieces of rough paper stapled together. Within five minutes, I'd scribbled all over the first page with new vocabulary and things I wanted to look up/needed to revise, but all in a rushed and haphazard way. My printer is out of paper and out of ink, so I didn't have the printed PowerPoint. I'd scribbled a little bit on the electronic version using my little touchscreen pen, but then I didn't do anything with these scribblings. So after the lesson, I was left with a bunch of scrawl on a notepad. Then I made a word document with some useful links in it. So now I had bits and pieces on my laptop and bits and pieces in my living room. Most of the information is still in Teacher Wei's PowerPoint, as well as my student textbook and my student workbook...


Aaarrggh! I know that I'm an adult learner and I need to get a handle on this!


Do I choose paper or computer to file my notes? I think I need to pick one. Either way, I need to get everything in one place and everything ticked off.


And I think I need to put more effort into writing out the learning outcomes at the start of each "page/section" and then writing up my summaries into the same place. Then I can add my homework and extra reading.


I can imagine that if I was a student, and I had a bunch of different modules to organise, my learning would be in a state of chaos within a matter of weeks.


This has really made me reflect on how I need to re-think the way that my students might take notes. I'm going to attend Roger Saunders' webinar on remote workbooks - maybe this will crack it?


17 views0 comments
bottom of page